19.8 C
Friday, April 12, 2024
Home News Updates Egerton University Main Campus Closed Indefinitely

Egerton University Main Campus Closed Indefinitely

Egerton University-Main Campus in Njoro, Nakuru County has been closed indefinitely following recent industrial action by lecturers.

According to the school’s administration, the strike has since interfered with the smooth flow of operations necessitating the closure of the institution.

“Following the strike by University teaching staff which has disrupted learning in the Institution, Senate at its 533rd meeting held on Thursday 25th November 2021 resolved to close the University with immediate effect until further notice,” read the notice.

Students have been advised to leave the grounds not later than Tuesday 30th November 2021.

On the same note, resident students are urged to check out of hostels by the same date.

At the same time, the University noted that a section of students from the school of Health Sciences and Veterinary Medicine and Surgery should report back on Monday 29th November 2021 to recommence lectures.

“Further to our earlier Notice regarding the closure of the University, Senate at its 533rd continuation meeting held on 26th November 2021 resolved that students from the Faculty of Health Sciences and Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery be recalled to campus to continue with their studies,” said the statement.

The lecturers downed their tools on November 4th, 2021 citing high-handedness and lack of a unifying leadership model by the university management.

The chairman of the Kenya Universities Staff Union (Kusu) Egerton University Chapter, Benjamin Kipchumba Ruto accused the management of failing to implement the 2017/2021 Collective Bargaining Agreement by totally disregarding a court order.

The dons, who were also joined by the branch Kenya Union of Domestic Hotels Educational Institutions Hospitals and Allied Workers, also accused the management of arbitrary withdrawal of negotiated salaries and benefits


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

President William Ruto Signed Four Universal Health Coverage (UHC) Bills Into Law.

The four bills include the Primary Health Care Bill, Facility Improvement Financing Bill, Digital Health Bill and the Social Health Insurance Bill. The Primary Health...

Tanzanians Flee The War In Israel And Return Home

9 Tanzanians who were in Israel have returned home today October 18, 2023 and were received by the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and...

Israeli President Herzog Slams BBC’s For Refusing To Call Hamas Terrorists During Talks With Rishi Sunak

Israeli President Isaac Herzog slammed the BBC for what he said was a 'distortion of the facts' over its reporting on Hamas during a meeting with British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak...

Watch Videos And Subscribe On Our Channel Special4uTV

https://www.youtube.com/@Special4uTV https://youtu.be/-iwDgQHEGBw   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lz7hbB6xhfc      

Recent Comments